CHICAGO (AP) - Gov. Pat Quinn's administration is trickling out information about what Illinois health insurance prices will be on the new marketplace that's a backbone of President Barack Obama's health care law.
Quinn's office announced Tuesday the monthly rates for the lowest-cost plan for a 25-year-old nonsmoker will be $120 in Chicago or $128 in Peoria. For a 40-year-old nonsmoker, the monthly cost of the cheapest plan would be $152 in Chicago or $163 in Peoria.
Most Illinois residents will be able to choose from at least 34 plans when the marketplace goes live Oct. 1.
Consumers will have to wait until then to learn exactly what choices will be available in their region and how much they'll pay. New tax credits will lower costs for some, depending on household income.
JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) - Missouri officials are looking for the next Christmas tree to decorate the lawn of the Governor's Mansion in Jefferson City.
The deadline to submit candidates to the state Department of Conservation is Sept. 30. Trees must be at least 40 feet tall, fully branched and donated. The owner of the winning tree gets a personalized thank you from Gov. Jay Nixon and an invitation to the tree lighting.
Submissions must include photos taken from several angles and distances, contact information and the location of tree through an online mapping service. Entries can be sent to the Department of Conservation in Jefferson City.
ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, Ill. (AP) - So far, more than 50 instructors have been approved to train Illinois residents applying for applications to carry concealed weapons.
The Daily Herald reports 54 instructors have been OK'd for the program - most of them in northern Illinois.
Illinois State Police spokeswoman Monique Bond says as many as 1,000 more applications have been received.
In July, Illinois became the last state in the nation to approve a law allowing the public possession of firearms.
Anyone who wants to apply for a concealed-carry license must complete 16 hours of training from a state-approved instructor. The instructor also must use the state's training curricula.
Applications for concealed-carry licenses will be available from state police beginning Jan. 5.
A list of instructors can be found here.